chocolate , chocolate and more chocolate

WP_20140121_007

WP_20140121_009

WP_20140121_006

WP_20140121_003

WP_20140121_004

WP_20140121_005

WP_20140121_002

well its good to be back again blogging after a period of indulgence over the Christmas period it was straight back into action in the kitchen both larder and pastry were at full flight over the past number of weeks ,my reason for not blogging in a while ,but I am back and be prepared for some tasty treats and savoury snacks as I show you what has been going on over the past few weeks on both sides of the kitchen. first off is pastry ,well I should call this chocolate class as chocolate sculptures were on the menu and chocolate tempering ,”warning to every body if you are doing one of these class’s either sculpture or tempering do not wear a white apron ” I am still cleaning mine 2 weeks later ,lesson learnt in my case .but anyway enough of me rambling on here is what I produced for my first ever sculpture/ centrepiece

the day started off with us weighting up our different chocolate types be it milk, white or dark chocolate . all chocolate that is used needs to be tempered ,in case you don’t know what this is the melting of the chocolate to a certain tempreture¬† and cooling to a lower one in oreder to get the right consistency for the chocolate to set and shine .

I was using both milk, white and dark chocolate on my sculpture so I had a lot of tempering to do .when the chocolate is tempered you have to work quickly in oreder to fill the moulds and get the chocolate to set .the sculpture consisted of many different shapes including a gold coloured chocolate egg .here some pictures of the different stages in the process

Leave a Reply

